Organic Olive Oil Mayonnaise

20130207-215107.jpg

20130208-140326.jpg

Using organic ingredients will equal organic product, so use whatever you like – all organic, some organic or none! 🙂

3 organic egg yolks* – at room temperature (approx 30 minutes)
1 1/2 tsp organic mustard (you can use deli mustard if you like)
2 1/2 C organic cold-pressed olive oil, divided
3/4 C sunflower oil
1 tsp apple cider or white wine vinegar
2 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp fine ground sea salt (more or less to taste – you may want to start out with 1/2 tsp, especially if you use table salt)
1/4 tsp pepper (white, but I ran out so I used black – it was fine!)
approx 2 tsp crushed/minced garlic – I buy the crushed garlic at Trader Joe’s – LOVE it. (this is to taste as well – you can omit if you aren’t a garlic fan!)

Disclaimer: *Raw egg is not recommended for infants, the elderly, pregnant women, and people with weakened immune systems. To avoid the risk of salmonella infection, you can use pasteurized egg yolk instead.

Combine egg yolks, mustard, vinegar, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper together. Whisk until blended thoroughly.

Whisking constantly, add 1/4 cup of olive oil a few drops at a time (I use a 1/2 teaspoon measure to ensure I don’t go too fast). This should take around 4 minutes. Whisking constantly, slowly add remaining oil in a slow, steady stream until it thickens – about 8-10 minutes. Cover and chill for about an hour. You can make this a couple days in advance if it’s for a special recipe (see my homemade ranch dressing post!) or make it the night before needed (that’s usually what I do!).

I really thought mayonnaise would be one of the hardest things to make – I was impressed with the ease of making it – it just takes a bit of time and a labor of love! 🙂

**Note – I have tried to make this in my stand mixer with the whisk attached – it wouldn’t work – I had to hand whisk it to fix it! 🙂 Please let me know if you have any questions.

~Kit

One thought on “Organic Olive Oil Mayonnaise

Leave a Reply

